LibGuides: Internet Resources: The Arts

DANCE

Contemporary Dance Directory - A directory exclusively dedicated to contemporary dance companies and choreographers worldwide.
Dance Magazine - Influential trade publication providing the latest news in the dance world.
Dance/USA - The national service organization for dance representing a broad cross section of the field.
National Museum of Dance - The only American museum exclusively devoted to the art form.

American Film Institute - Website of the nonprofit, with lists of recommended films and a descriptive catalog of American movies.
Anatomy of a Scene - From the New York Times, features directors explaining their choices in the creation of a particular scene.
Go Into the Story - Screenwriter Scott Myers shares writing and professional advice, script analyses, and more.
National Screening Room - The moving image collection at the Library of Congress.

All Music Guide- Collection of information on artists, albums, and styles.
Billboard.com - Billboard magazine online.
The Gumbo - Site that showcases the multi-dimensional experience of Hip-Hop.
The Hip Hop Education Center - History and educational resources related to the study of hip hop.
The Hiphop Archive and Research Center - Center for the study of hiphop at Harvard University..
The Contemplator - Music history and lyrics for old songs, including Songs of the Sea and Popular Songs in American History.

Broadway World - News website based in New York covering Broadway, Off-Broadway, regional, and international productions.
Theatre Communications Group - TCG promotes nonprofit professional theatre in the United States and is the publisher of American Theatre magazine.
The Theatre Times -Website covering theatre around the world and curating top theatre content from over 80 sources.

Art 21 - Educational materials related to contemporary art and artists.
Art Institute of Chicago - Artworks and other resources from the museum's collection.
Art Story - Detailed analysis of the most important works of each artist and movement.
Artcyclopedia - Database of over 7,500 artists.
Artstor Public Collections - Freely accessible library of images and other media.
Artsy for Education - Resources for discovering and learning about art.
Artura - Interactive digital archive of culturally diverse art and artists from Brandywine workshop.
Asian Historical Architecture - Photographic survey.
Cities and Buildings Database - Digitized images of buildings and cities.
Curationist - Open access to global cultural resources from collections around the world with 4.4 million +digitized works.
Google Arts & Culture - Content from 2000 museums and archives around the world.
The Louvre - Treasures of the Louvre palace and museum.
Metropolitan Museum of Art - Highlights from the museum's collection.
National Museum of African Art - Smithsonian museum celebrating African arts and culture.
Smart History - Center for Public Art History.
UNESCO World Heritage - Information on sites that have universal value.
The Uffizi - Art, precious artisan-made objects, books, and plants belonging to the Medici, Habsburg-Lorraine and Savoy families, with treasures dating from Antiquity to the 20th century, .
Web Gallery of Art - European art of the Gothic, Renaissance & Baroque periods (1150-1800).