| Search Our Destiny Catalog | ||||
| Find | ||||
|
|
|
|
|
| Or go to Destiny... | ||||
Subject specific encyclopedias and general reference works can help you get started with research. Most are on the overnight reserve cart.
| 302.2309/HIS | History of the Mass Media in the United States: An Encyclopedia |
|
303.48/AME |
American Social Reform Movements: Almanac, Biographies, Primary Sources (4 vols.) |
|
303.484/ENC |
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements (4 vols.) |
| 303.4840973/GUL | Dissent & Protest (1635-2017) Defining Documents (eBook also on Salem) |
| 304.873/DAN | American Immigration |
| 304.873/IMM | Immigration in U.S. History (2 vols.) |
|
304.873/ISS |
Issues in U.S. Immigration (2 vols.) |
| 304.873/US | U.S. Immigration and Migration: Almanac, Biographies, Primary Sources (4 vols.) |
|
305.4/HIS |
History of Women in the United States (4 vols.) |
| 305.4097/COT | No Small Courage: A History of Women in the United States |
|
305.42/SIG |
Laborers for Liberty: American Women, 1865-1890 |
|
323.1/GRE |
Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights (2 vols.) |
| 323.1/WEX | The Civil Rights Movement |
|
323.173/ENG |
American Civil Rights: Almanac, Biographies, Primary Sources (4 vols.) |
|
327.73/HAS |
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy |
| 327.73003/HAS | Belligerents, Brinkmanship, and the Big Stick: A Historical Encyclopedia of American Diplomatic Concepts |
|
330.973/IND |
The Industrial Revolution in America: Iron and Steel |
| 330.973/IND | The Industrial Revolution in America: Railroads |
| 330.973/IND | The Industrial Revolution in America: Steam Ships |
| 331.0973/MAN | Shift Happens: The History of Labor in the United States |
|
338.0973/HIS |
Historical Encyclopedia of American Business |
|
361.97303/SOC |
Social Issues in America (7vols.) |
| 609.2/EVA | They Made America: From the Steam Engine to the Search Engine: Two Centuries of Innovators |
| 609.73/KLE | The Power Makers: Steam, Electricity, and the Men Who Invented Modern America |
| 624.09/CAD | Dreams of Iron and Steel: Seven Wonders of the Nineteenth Century, from the Building of the London Sewers to the Panama Canal |
| 909.81/ENC | Industrial Revolution: Almanac, Biographies, Primary Sources (4 vols.) |
| 909.81/FRA | Industrial Revolution: A History in Documents |
|
909.81/GRE |
Great Events from History: The 19th Century (eBook also on Salem) |
| 909.81/OUT | Encyclopedia of the Age of the Industrial Revolution 1700-1920 (2 vols.) |
| 909.825/GRE | Great Events from History: The 20th Century (eBook also on Salem) |
|
973/ANN |
Annals of America (Primary Source) |
| 973/MIL | Milestone Documents in American History (Primary Source) (3 vols.) |
|
973.03/DIC |
Dictionary of American History (10 vols.) |
|
973.03/ENC |
Encyclopedia of American Historical Documents (Primary source) |
|
973.03/ENC |
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century |
| 973.8/AME | American Eras: Development of the Industrial United States 1878-1899 |
| 973.8/ENC | America 1900: The Turning Point |
|
973.8/ENC |
Encyclopedia of the Gilded Age and the Progressive Era (3 vols.) |
|
973.8/GIL |
The Gilded Age: 1870 to 1900 ( A Handbook to Life in America series) |
|
973.8/GIL |
The Gilded Age: A History in Documents |
|
973.8/GIL |
The Gilded Age and the Progressive Era: Almanac, Biographies, and Primary Sources (3 vols.) |
| 973.8/HUS | Daily Life in the Industrial United States, 1870-1900 |
| 973.8/JAY | The Progressive Era ( Eyewitness History) |
| 973.8/SHR | The Gilded Age (American Popular Culture Through History series) |
| 973.91/STR | The Roaring Twenties |
|
973.92/AME |
American Decades & American Decades Primary Sources- selected decades |
| 973.915/NIN | The 1920s (eBook also on Salem) |
| 978/DOE | Does the Frontier Experience Make America Exceptional? |
|
978/PEN |
Westward Expansion: Almanac, Biographies, Primary Sources (3vols.) |
| 978/WES | Westward Expansion: An Eyewitness History |
To locate primary source material in the Carlos Library book collection, go to the Online Catalog. Type in Primary Source; click on Keyword, click on the Sort by arrow and choose Call number. Then click on Go. Many of the primary sources for U.S. history have 973 call numbers.
For additional information on primary sources, see: WA Primary Source LibGuide
Milestone Documents in American History
by
Milestone Documents in American History offers students and researchers in-depth analytical essays illuminating famous primary source documents from U.S. history. Each entry in this set includes the full text of the document in question as well as critica
Encyclopedia of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era
by
Contains alphabetically arranged entries that provide information on notable people, events, ideas, organizations, and movements in the history of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era, from 1877 to 1920, and includes an introduction to the period, thematic essays, and a selection of documents.
American Decades
by
Covers everything from monumental events and groundbreaking individuals to the details of Americans' daily lives. Supports historical research in disciplines from the arts and business to law, medicine, technology, and social trends.
Search the catalog with keywords related to your topic to find more subject specific monographs.
Below are just a few examples:
| 071/COH | Yellow Journalism: Scandal, Sensationalism, and Gossip in the Media |
| 322.4209 NEW | The Ku Klux Klan: History, Organization, Language, Influence and Activities of America's Most Notorious Secret Society |
| 345.7302/JOH | Scopes Monkey Trial |
| 700.89/HIL | Harlem Stomp!: A Cultural History of the Harlem Renaissance |