| Search Our Destiny Catalog | ||||
| Find | ||||
|
|
|
|
|
| Or go to Destiny... | ||||
On the reserve cart:
| 004.092/COM | Computer Technology Innovators (eBook also on Salem) | |
| 004.092/INT | Internet Innovators (eBook also on Salem) | |
| 004.092/LEA | Leaders of the Information Age | |
| 305.562/REE | Working In America (An Eyewitness History) | |
| 322.4/BRI | Political and Social Movements that Changed the Modern world | |
| 330.1/BAI | Poor Richard's Legacy : American Business Values from Benjamin Franklin to Donald Trump | |
| 330.973/BEN | Development of the industrial U.S.: Almanac, Biographies, Primary Sources (3 vols.) | |
| 330.973/DOB | Bulls, Bears, Boom, and Bust: A Historical Encyclopedia of American Business Concepts | |
| 330.973/IND | Industrial Revolution: People and Perspectives | |
| 331.0973/MAN | Shift Happens: The History of Labor in the United States | |
| 331.0973/WOR | Work In America: An Encyclopedia of History, Policy, and Society (2 vols.) | |
| 332.092/TYC | Tycoons and Entrepreneurs | |
| 332.1/CHE | The House of Morgan : An American Banking Dynasty and the Rise of Modern Finance | |
| 332.6/KIL | Of Permanent Value : The Story of Warren Buffett | |
| 332.64/GOR | The Scarlet Woman of Wall Street : Jay Gould, Jim Fisk, Cornelius Vanderbilt, the Erie Railway Wars, and the Birth of Wall Street | |
| 338.0409/KLE | The Change Makers : From Carnegie to Gates : How the Great Entrepreneurs Transformed Ideas into Industries | |
| 338.092/BRA | Masters of Enterprise : Giants of American Business from John Jacob Astor and J.P. Morgan to Bill Gates and Oprah Winfrey | |
| 338.092/DRE | Icons of Business : An Encyclopedia of Mavericks, Movers, and Shakers | |
| 338.092/HAM | American Business Leaders : From Colonial Times to the Present | |
| 338.092/LEA | Leading American Businesses : Profiles of Major American Companies and the People Who Made Them Important v. 1 and 2 | |
| 338.0922/MAY | In Their Time: The Great Business Leaders of the Twentieth Century | |
|
338.0973/GET |
Encyclopedia of American Business History |
|
|
338.0973/HIS |
Historical Encyclopedia of American Business |
|
| 338.4762/GOL | Drive!: Henry Ford, George Selden, and the Race to Invent the Auto Age | |
| 338.7/LAC | Ford, the Men and the Machine | |
| 338.7/LAN | Dynasties : Fortunes and Misfortunes of the World's Great Family Businesses | |
| 338.7629/BAN | The Ford Century: Ford Motor Company and the Innovations that Shaped the World | |
| 381.149/WAL | Sam Walton, Made in America: My Story | |
| 609/BRO | Inventing Modern America: From the Microwave to the Mouse | |
| 609/KLO | Icons of Invention: The Makers of the Modern World from Gutenberg to Gates | |
| 609.2/EVA | They Made America: From the Steam Engine to the Search Engine | |
| 609.73/IER | Wondrous Contrivances: The Technology at the Threshold | |
| 609.73/KLE | The Power Makers: Steam, Electricity, and the Men Who Invented Modern America | |
|
909.81/GRE |
Great Events from History: The 19th Century (eBook also on Salem) |
|
| 909.825/GRE | Great Events from History: The 20th Century (eBook also on Salem) | |
| 920/AME | American Heroes | |
| 920/CAR | American Inventors, Entrepreneurs, and Business Visionaries | |
| 920/GRE | Great Lives from History: The Incredibly Wealthy (eBook also on Salem) | |
| 920/UXL | UXL Newsmakers (6 vols.) | |
| 920.02/GRE | Great Lives from History: The Twenty First Century(2000-2017) (eBook also on Salem) | |
|
973.03/ENC |
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century |
|
| 973.8/AME | Development of the Industrial U.S. 1878-1899 | |
| 973.8/CRI | America 1900: The Turning Point | |
|
973.8/ENC |
Encyclopedia of the Gilded Age and the Progressive Era (3 vols.) |
|
|
973.8/GIL |
The Gilded Age: 1870 to 1900 |
|
|
973.8/GIL |
The Gilded Age: A History in Documents |
|
|
973.8/GIL |
The Gilded Age and the Progressive Era: Almanac, Biographies, and Primary Sources (3 vols.) |
|
| 973.91/SHR | The Gilded Age: American Popular Culture Through History | |
| 973.915/NIN | The 1920s (eBook also on Salem) | |
| 973.93/TWO |
|
Individual Biographies:
| 92 CAR | Andrew Carnegie |
| 92 CAR | Andrew Carnegie: Steel Tycoon |
| 92 CAR | The Many Lives of Andrew Carnegie |
| 92 GAT | Bill Gates : A Twentieth-Century Life |
| 92 GAT | Bill Gates : Computer Mogul and Philanthropist |
| 92 GOU | The Life and Legend of Jay Gould |
| 92 HEARST | William Randolph Hearst: The Early Years, 1863-1910 |
| 92 HEARST | The Chief: The Life of William Randolph Hearst |
| 92 HEARST | William Randolph Hearst and the American Century |
| 92 JOB | Steve Jobs : The Brilliant Mind Behind Apple |
| 92 JOB | Steve Jobs : The Man Who Thought Different: A Biography |
| 92 MOR | Morgan : American Financier |
| 92 MUS | Elon Musk : Tesla, SpaceX, and the Quest for a Fantastic Future |
| 92 ROC | John D. Rockefeller : Anointed with Oil |
| 92 ROC | Titan : The Life of John D. Rockefeller |
| 92 VAN | The First Tycoon : The Epic Life of Cornelius Vanderbilt |
| 92 WAL | Sam Walton, Made in America: My Story |
Leaders of American Business and Industry
by
This 3-vol. resource is written specifically for students in grades 5-12 who need biographical information on past and present American entrepreneurs and business leaders. "Leading American Businesses" presents 45 in-depth company profiles, 45 biographies on American businesspeople and 30 to 45 shorter biographical sidebars. Ranging in length from five to ten pages, each biographical sketch profiles a well-known or influential individual within the company, exploring their background, education, obstacles, achievements and impact. Entries include the context surrounding economically important events, birth and death information, a quote from or about the businessperson, "Notable Achievement" and "Impact" sidebars and sources for further reading. The company profiles include contact information, founding date, former names or "also known as" names, history, primary products and brands, financial information, strategy, international presence, a chronology of key dates, current trends, key advertising campaigns, standing within an industry, sales and more. Features include alphabetical arrangement, 180 black-and-white illustrations, leaders listed by field, a timeline placing leaders in the context of major events, a "Words to Know" section and a cumulative general index.
Steve Jobs: the Man Who Thought Different
by
A riveting biography of the groundbreaking innovator who was a giant in the worlds of computing, music, filmmaking, design, smart phones, and more. A finalist for the YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award! "Your time is limited. . . . have the courage to follow your heart and intuition." --Steve Jobs From the start, his path was never predictable. Steve Jobs was given up for adoption at birth, dropped out of college after one semester, and at the age of twenty, created Apple in his parents' garage with his friend Steve Wozniack. Then came the core and hallmark of his genius--his exacting moderation for perfection, his counterculture life approach, and his level of taste and style that pushed all boundaries. A devoted husband, father, and Buddhist, he battled cancer for over a decade, became the ultimate CEO, and made the world want every product he touched, from the Macintosh to the iPhone, from iTunes and the iPod to the Macbook. Critically acclaimed author Karen Blumenthal takes us to the core of this complicated and legendary man while simultaneously exploring the evolution of computers. Framed by Jobs' inspirational Stanford commencement speech and illustrated throughout with black and white photos, this is the story of the man who changed our world. Read more thrilling nonfiction by Karen Blumenthal: Hillary Rodham Clinton: A Woman Living History (A YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award Finalist) Bootleg: Murder, Moonshine, and the Lawless Years of Prohibition Tommy: The Gun That Changed America Praise for Steve Jobs: The Man Who Thought Different: A Biography: "This is a smart book about a smart subject by a smart writer." --Booklist, starred review "Students who know Steve Jobs only through Apple's iTunes, iPhones, and iPads will have their eyes opened by this accessible and well-written biography." --VOYA "An engaging and intimate portrait. Few biographies for young readers feel as relevant and current as this one does." --The Horn Book Magazine "A perceptive, well-wrought picture of an iconic figure." --Kirkus Reviews "Blumenthal crafts an insightful, balanced portrait." --Publishers Weekly
The 21st Century (2000-2016), 3 Volume Set
by
Immediate access to in-depth information on 21st Century leaders of business, technology, politics, science, the arts, and sports from around the world. This new addition to the Great Lives from History series features over 500 essays on the most notable figures in 21st Century politics, literature, education, journalism, science, business, and sports. Coverage is extensive and spans the globe. Included in this edition are such prominent figures as: Donald Trump Kim Jong-un Elizabeth II Barack Obama Larry Page Osama Bin Laden John G. Roberts Steve Jobs Vladimir Putin Tony Blair Jeff Bezos And many, many more. Each essay is approximately four pages in length and begins with easy access to biographical information-name, occupation, area of achievement, and dates of birth and/or death. Also included is a brief synopsis explaining the individual's historical or social importance. The body of each essay is divided into several sections: "Early Life" provides facts about the individual's upbringing and the environment in which they were reared. "Life's Work" is a straightforward, chronological account of how the individual gained recognition in their chosen field, emphasizing the most significant achievements in the figure's life and career. "Significance" provides an overview of the importance of the individual's accomplishments, and discusses why it is important to study this individual. All essays conclude with notes for further research and cross-references to other essays in the set. A multitude of sidebars provide key information on notable achievements, career highlights, and important causes. Appendixes include a Chronological List of Entries and a comprehensive Bibliography, plus Category and Subject Indexes round out this amazing collection.
These databases provide access to full-length monographs in digital form:
Collection of eBooks curated by librarians in a variety of high school subject areas.