Library research databases are sometimes called the "deep web" or "hidden web" because they must be accessed through a paid subscription. Library databases contain published works in which the facts have been checked. They are a great source of scholarly articles.
Woodward Academy pays for access to many different databases to enhance the quality of student research. Some databases may be accessed on campus without a password. Off campus, you may have to enter a user name and a password that can be found via the link below:
For help, email Ms. Haber.
Envision your perfect article. What words would be in the title of the article or in its summary?
1.Take advantage of advanced search features:
a. Keep it simple. Search for only two or three keywords at a time, not whole sentences.
b. Use only important words--drop the, an, a, or, for, of, from, to, or even effects or how.
c. Put quotation marks around phrases
d. Use Boolean operators like: AND, OR, NOT
e. Limit to: Full text and Peer-Reviewed
f. Limit source type: Scholarly Journals, Magazines
g. Limit Document type: Article
h. Narrow Date of Publication
2. If no results-- try, try again!
3. Use the Tools menu on the databases and choose Export to NoodleTools if that is available. If not then copy/paste the MLA citation to paste with QuickCite.
4. Citing in NoodleTools first, creates a permanent link to the article:)
Both of these databases will have articles about literary works and articles related to the political, psychological, and sociological themes being explored.
Next, try a search in this literature database:
Search using the title of the work or the author's name and add keywords related to your topic.
These are sources of scholarly articles which can help add depth and support to your paper:
Full-length nonfiction books with search within features:
