Skip to Main Content

Peter/USH/Spring : Books

Online Catalog

Search Our Destiny Catalog
Find
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Or go to Destiny...

Reference Books

You will need to search the catalog for specific topics, find the call #, and pull the books off the shelf.

The following are subject specific encyclopedias and general reference works that can help you get started with research. Most are on the overnight reserve cart. 

GENERAL REFERENCE

303.48/AME

American Social Reform Movements: Almanac, Biographies, Primary Sources (4 vols.)       

303.484/ENC

Encyclopedia of American Social Movements  (4 vols.)

305.4/HIS

History of Women in the United States (4 vols.)

305.42/SIG

Laborers for Liberty: American Women, 1865-1890

323.1/GRE

Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights (2 vols.)

323.173/ENG

American Civil Rights: Almanac, Biographies, Primary Sources (4 vols.)

327.73/HAS

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
327.73003/HAS Belligerents, Brinkmanship, and the Big Stick: A Historical Encyclopedia of American Diplomatic Concepts

338.0973/HIS

Historical Encyclopedia of American Business

361.97303/SOC

Social Issues in America (7vols.)
909.82/COL Cold War: A Student Encyclopedia
909.825/GRE Great Events from History: The 20th Century (eBook also on Salem)

973/ANN   

Annals of America  (Primary Source)
973/MIL Milestone Documents in American History  (Primary Source) (3 vols.)

973.03/DIC 

Dictionary of American History (10 vols.)

973.03/ENC

Encyclopedia of American Historical Documents  (Primary source)
973.915/NIN The 1920s (eBook also on Salem)

973.92/AME

American Decades & American Decades Primary Sources

 

Call Numbers

What is a Call Number?

Call numbers are a way to make books easier to find in the library. At WA, we use the Dewey Decimal Classification system, an alphanumeric system which groups books by subject categories.

  • Call number(#)  are listed under the title of a book in the catalog
  • The numbers and letters tell you which shelf to look on 
  • Look at the call# labels on the book spine to find the book on the shelf

Here is how that works:

Primary Sources

To locate primary source material in the Carlos Library book collection, go to the Online Catalog.  Type in Primary Source; click on Keyword, click on the Sort by arrow and choose Call number.  Then click on Go.  Many of the primary sources for U.S. history have 973 call numbers.

For additional information on primary sources, see: WA Primary Source LibGuide