Library databases are sometimes called the "deep web" or "hidden web" because the reference information they provide can only be accessed through a paid subscription. Library databases contain information that has been checked for authority, accuracy, and bias. Woodward Academy pays for access to databases to enhance the quality of student research. Some databases may be accessed on campus without a password. Off campus, you may have to enter a user name and a password that can be found via the link below:
Password trouble? Email: ann.haber@woodward.edu
1.Take advantage of advanced search features:
Put quotation marks around long phrases
Use AND, OR, NOT to narrow/expand your search
Limit to: Full text and Peer-Reviewed
Source type: Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers
Document type: Article
Date of Publication
2. Use the Tools menu to find the "Export to NoodleTools" feature or copy/paste the Chicago/Turabian (notes/ bibliography format) citation into NoodleTools with quick cite.
3. Citing in NoodleTools first creates a permanent link to the article.
Gale databases include articles from reference books, special encyclopedias, newspapers, magazines, and journals:
The Explora interface searches across all of the EBSCO databases we provide.
These databases provide access to full-length monographs in digital form:
Collection of eBooks curated by librarians in a variety of high school subject areas.
Scholarly journal articles in all subject areas:
For a basic digital subscription to the NYT, set up an account using these directions:
WA NYT Access Info
The ProQuest data base provides access to the daily AJC, WSJ, NYT, and Washington Post under Publications. See Help for directions.
