| Search Our Destiny Catalog | ||||
| Find | ||||
|
|
|
|
|
| Or go to Destiny... | ||||
World Religions
by
Baffled by Buddhism? Confused by Catholicism? Mystified by Mysticism? Discover everything you need to know about the world's major religious faiths. A compelling and insightful guide for uncovering and understanding a variety of the world's major religions, this book is the perfect gift for thinkers, borrowers, religious studies and philosophy students. Learn new and profound information about a variety of faiths. In this educational guide, you'll find: * A chapter devoted to each of the major world religions -- Hinduism, Buddhism, Judaism, Christianity and Islam. * Lesser-known religions and belief systems are covered, offering a comprehensive overview of faith. * Detailed illustrations and annotated works of art, and a timeline of religious history. Discover the world's major religions and other faiths from both the ancient and the modern world through this insightful guide. Explore over 450 classic works of religious and devotional art. With sacred texts, epic imagery, key beliefs and religious artifacts, this educational guide is perfect for libraries, classrooms and the bookshelves of those who simply love learning.
Religions of the World
by
An extraordinary survey, in four volumes, of the religious belief and practice in all 276 of the world's nations and territories. From the Aboriginal Cult of Maria Lionza in Venezuela to Zionist and Apostolic churches in South Africa and Zimbabwe, Religions of the World is the only comprehensive compilation of the world's existing major religious communities. This extraordinary four-volume survey examines the religious history and key religious communities in all 240 recognized nations and territories. More than 200 international experts contributed the 1,200+ entries covering each group's origin, history, organization, ecumenical contacts, and present status. Other entries focus on individual countries, surveying the current state of religious practice, supported by statistical data from leading religious statisticians David B. Barrett and Todd M. Johnson. The volumes place African independent churches, Japanese new religions, and surviving indigenous beliefs alongside Catholicism, Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. Illustrated and indexed, and including cross-references and end-of-entry bibliographic citations, this remarkable set is destined to become the primary reference source on religious issues throughout the world. * 1,200+ A-Z entries including individual religious groups, country-by-country entries, and core entries that address major world religions * 200+ contributors including top religious scholars from around the globe * Photographs of religious leaders, ceremonies, sacred structures, and artifacts such as an Aboriginal sacred Churunga and the Gurujem Monastery in Tibet * Statistical data on the projected status of religions for 2000 to 2050 broken down by country and by type of religion * Cross references and end-of-entry bibliographic citations
World Religions Reference Library Cumulative Index
by
Search the extensive U - X - L World Religions Reference Library with ease with this cumulative index to the entire set.
Hinduism
by
If you want to learn about Hinduism, then keep reading... This book will discuss the history and founding of Hinduism, the basics of the four main beliefs of Hinduism, the gods and goddesses which are associated with these beliefs, and how to practice the beliefs of Hinduism in everyday life. Hinduism: What You Need to Know about the Hindu Religion, Gods, Goddesses, Beliefs, History, and Rituals will also bring up some philosophical questions based on the core beliefs of Hinduism that will help to guide decisions on life's actions. Here's just a tiny fraction of what you'll discover: History and Definition of Hinduism The Beliefs of Hinduism The Gods and Goddesses of Hinduism Applying the Beliefs of Hinduism to Everyday Life and the Concept of Karma Hinduism and the Belief of the Soul Hindu Mythology Hindu Rituals and Ceremonies And much, much more! If you want to learn more about Hinduism, then scroll up and click "add to cart"!
Hinduism
by
This title seeks to both dispel the myths and mysteries surrounding Hinduism and to explain the connection between politics and religion in India. It covers the emergence of the Hindu Nationalist Party (BJP) as India's most powerful political force.
Listed are print books in the Carlos Library collection related to the study of world religions.
For an overview on a variety of religions, see the titles below. For specific religions, see the lists in the box below this one.
| 200/BRO | World Religions: A Voyage of Discovery |
|
200/BOW |
World Religions: The Great Faiths Explored and Explained |
| 200/COO |
Illustrated Guide to World Religions (2 copies) |
|
200/FAR |
Historical Atlas of Religions |
|
200/REL |
Religions of the World (4 vol. set) |
| 200/SMI |
The World's Religions |
|
200/WOR |
World Religions: Almanac, Biographies, Primary Sources(5 vol. set) |
|
200.3/WIL |
The Religion Book: Places, People, Saints, and Seers |
| 200.8209/BRO | Women and American Religion |
| 200.973/HAL |
Religion in America |
| 200.973/MEA | Handbook of Denominations in the United States |
| 200.973/STE | Alternative American Religions |
| 200.973/MEA | Religion in Nineteenth Century America |
| 208.2/SNO | Encyclopedia of World Scripture |
| 200.973/HAL |
Religion in America |
| 200.973/PEL |
Handbook of Denominations in the United States |
| 232.904/PEL |
Jesus Christ: The Jesus of History, The Christ of Faith |
| 232.904/PEL |
Jesus Through the Centuries: His Place in the History of Culture |
| 261.2709/FLE |
The Cross and the Crescent: Christianity and Islam from Muhammad to the Reformation |
| 270.092/GUI |
Encyclopedia of Saints |
| 270.092/MCB |
Lives of the Saints |
|
270.1/RIS |
The Rise of Christianity |
|
270.82/STA |
Christianity in the Twentieth Century |
| 277/HEY |
Southern Cross: The Beginnings of the Bible Belt |
| 280.403/ENC |
Encyclopedia of Protestantism |
|
200.959/REL |
Religion in Southeast Asia |
|
294/NOB |
Myths and Legends, Hindus and Buddhists |
| 294.5/BRA | Understanding Hinduism |
| 294.5/MOO |
Hinduism: What You Need to Know About Gods, Goddesses, Beliefs, History, and Rituals |
|
294.5/NAR |
Hinduism |
| 294.5/RAN | Hinduism |
|
294.5/RAT |
Hinduism |
|
294.5/WAN |
Hinduism |
| 294.509/BRE |
Modern Hinduism |
| 294.513/ION |
Indian Mythology |
| 950.03/ENC |
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia, v. 2 |
| 954/HEN |
Culture and Customs of India |
| 954/MCL |
The History of India |
| 954/WAL |
A Brief History of India |
| 954.003/ENC |
Encyclopedia of India |
|
296/DEL |
An Introduction to Judaism |
|
296/JUD |
Judaism: History, Belief, and Practice |
| 296/LEW |
Judaism |
|
296/MOR |
Judaism |
| 296/PAS |
Links in the Chain: Shapers of the Jewish Tradition |
|
296.03/OXF |
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion |
|
296.09/GOO |
A History of Judaism |
|
296.0973/SAR |
American Judaism: A History |
| 296.19/PAT | Stories of the Jewish People |
| 296.43/RUS | The Jewish Year: Celebrating the Holidays |
| 296.7/DAR | This Jewish Life: Stories of Discovery, Connection, and Joy |
| 909.0492/BLO |
The Jewish World in the Modern Age |
| 909.0492/BRE |
A Short History of the Jews |
| 909.0492/GIL |
The Jews in the Twentieth Century |
| 909.0492/SCH |
The Story of the Jews |
|
261.2709 FLE |
The Cross and the Crescent: Christianity and Islam from Muhammad to the Reformation |
|
297 ASH |
Islam |
|
297 ASL |
No God But God: The Origins, Evolution, and Future of Islam |
|
297 ESP |
Islam: The Straight Path |
|
297 FAR |
Islam: Beliefs and Observances |
|
297 GOR |
Islam: Origins, Practices, Holy Texts, Sacred Persons, Sacred Places |
|
297 ISL |
Islam: A Short Guide to the Faith |
|
297 ISL |
The Islam Book |
|
297 LUN |
Islam |
|
297 MUS |
The Muslim Almanac: A Reference Work on the History, Faith, Culture, and Peoples of Islam |
|
297 MUS |
The Muslim World |
|
297 NAS |
Islam: Religion, History, and Civilization |
|
297 RAD |
Understanding Islam |
|
297.03 CAM |
Encyclopedia of Islam |
|
297.09 ARM |
Oxford Dictionary of Islam |
|
297.09 BLO |
Islam: A Thousand Years of Faith and Power |
|
297.09 ISL |
Islam in World Cultures: Comparative Perspectives |
|
297.09 KAV |
The Muslim World: An Overview |
|
297.09 SPR |
The Spread of Islam |
|
297.0905 ISL |
Islamic Fundamentalism |
|
297.0973 BEV |
Islamic Faith in America |
|
297.8709 DAN |
Black Pilgrimage to Islam |
|
303.625 WRI |
The Terror Years: From Al-Qaeda to the Islamic State |
|
322.4208 ESP |
Unholy War: Terror in the Name of Islam |
|
956 ENC |
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim |
|
956 OXF |
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World |
| 294.3 ARM | Buddha |
| 294.3 BST | The Heart of Compassion |
| 294.3 BUC | Understanding Buddhism |
| 294.3 CHO | Buddhism for Beginners |
| 294.3 ENC |
Encyclopedia of Buddhism (2 vols.) |
| 294.3 RIE | The Many Faces of Buddhism |
| 294.3 SMI | Buddhism: A Concise Introduction |
| 294.3 THO | Buddhism |
| 201.44 HAR | Shamans |
| 299.6 KAR | The Handbook of Yoruba Religious Concepts |
| 299.6 MAE | Yoruba: The Ultimate Guide To Yoruba Religion |
| 299.7 HAR |
Native American Religions |
| 299.7 MAR |
Native American Religion |
| 970.004 JOS | 500 Nations |
| 970.004 NAS | Native Americans from Post-Columbian through Nineteenth-Century America |
| 970.004 NAT | Native Americans |
Student login: username: firsthalfWAemail password: studentid#
